TL;DR
Get wellness gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Structural Elements is seeking experienced multi-unit operators as it works toward a company-stated goal of 125 clinics within five years. Its franchise model separates clinic ownership and operations from licensed practitioners, who run independent practices within shared locations. The company lists estimated initial investments of $703,000 to $1.4 million, but the timing and likelihood of reaching the target are unclear.
Structural Elements, a Hagerstown, Maryland-based orthopedic wellness franchise, is recruiting experienced multi-unit operators as it pursues a company-stated goal of 125 clinics within five years. Its model lets franchisees own and manage clinic locations while licensed practitioners operate their own businesses inside them, separating facility operations from the delivery of care.
The company said its network currently includes clinics in Maryland and Wisconsin and 11 micro-franchise practice owners. It began franchising in 2016 and introduced its practitioner ownership model in 2019. Structural Elements says it is registered to offer franchises in Maryland, Wisconsin and Florida, while its near-term expansion focus is Maryland, Pennsylvania and North Carolina.
Under the arrangement, clinic owners handle facility and back-office work such as scheduling, billing, marketing and front-desk operations. Licensed practitioners—including physical therapists, acupuncturists, athletic trainers and medical providers—operate independent practices in the shared space under three-year agreements. The company says it helps recruit and train those providers.
Clinic revenue may come from provider space fees, recovery memberships through its (se) LAB offering, retail, workshops and corporate wellness programs. Structural Elements says typical suburban clinics occupy 5,000 to 7,000 square feet. The initial franchise fee is $65,000, reduced to $52,000 for each additional clinic under a multi-unit agreement; estimated total initial investment ranges from $703,000 to $1.4 million.
The expansion pitch targets operators with business and operations experience, including those already managing portfolios in other sectors. Structural Elements describes its clinic footprint as potentially complementary to salon-suite and urgent-care businesses. If adopted at scale, its structure could offer investors a way to enter wellness without personally providing clinical services, while practitioners retain ownership of their own practices.
That separation also makes the model dependent on attracting and retaining qualified providers, not just signing franchisees or opening facilities. The company says shared space and provider support are intended to address provider turnover and unused treatment rooms, but those are company-described aims, not independently verified results. The investment range also means prospective operators would need to assess substantial startup costs against local demand and the ability to recruit practitioners.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Hagerstown to Franchising
Structural Elements opened its flagship clinic in Hagerstown in 2013 and began franchising three years later. The company’s practitioner micro-franchise offering followed in 2019, creating the two-part ownership structure now at the center of its growth effort.
Founder and CEO Douglas Bertram developed the brand’s treatment method through work in manual therapy, Chinese medicine and fascia-focused care, according to the company. Structural Elements says network providers train in that method. The business is positioning hands-on movement care within a wider wellness and longevity market, arguing that maintaining physical function should receive more attention alongside metabolic health.
“Our model has been refined over more than a decade with real patients and providers.”
— Douglas Bertram, founder and CEO of Structural Elements
orthopedic wellness treatment tools
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Growth Target and Results Remain Open
The company’s 125-clinic target is an aim, not a reported outcome. The source material does not specify when the five-year period begins, how many clinics are currently operating, or how many franchise agreements have been signed toward the target. It also does not provide location-by-location performance, provider occupancy rates, franchisee returns or evidence that the model has reduced turnover.
Structural Elements describes its approach as patient-focused and says it is designed to address staffing and unused-space challenges. Those statements are the company’s rationale; the available material does not include independent data establishing the model’s clinical or financial results. Whether announced expansion areas will produce new openings, and on what schedule, remains unclear.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Recruiting Operators in Target States
The company says it is seeking multi-brand and multi-unit operators and plans to focus near-term franchise growth on Maryland, Pennsylvania and North Carolina. Prospective owners can compare the stated franchise fees and investment estimates with the staffing, facility and operating requirements of a specific market.
The next concrete indicators will be signed franchise agreements, announced clinic openings and details about provider recruitment. Structural Elements has not provided a dated schedule for those milestones in the source report, so progress toward the five-year goal cannot yet be assessed against a defined timetable.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is Structural Elements announcing?
It is seeking experienced multi-unit operators as it pursues a company-stated goal of 125 clinics within five years. The source does not specify when that five-year period starts.
How does the franchise model work?
Franchise owners manage clinic facilities and back-office functions. Licensed practitioners operate independent practices in the shared locations under three-year micro-franchise agreements, according to the company.
How much does a Structural Elements clinic cost to open?
The company lists a $65,000 initial franchise fee, reduced to $52,000 for each additional clinic in a multi-unit agreement. Estimated total initial investment ranges from $703,000 to $1.4 million.
Where is the company focused on expanding?
Structural Elements says its near-term focus is Maryland, Pennsylvania and North Carolina. It says it is registered to offer franchises in Maryland, Wisconsin and Florida.
Has the company confirmed it will reach 125 locations?
No. 125 clinics is a stated target, not a confirmed result. The source does not give a start date for the target period, a full current location count or a schedule of planned openings.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
