TL;DR
Oura is adding Cardio Effort, a personalized measure of workout cardiovascular strain, and an updated VO2 max estimate based on GPS-enabled activities. The features expand the smart ring’s fitness tools, though the updated VO2 max experience is launching in Oura Labs and depends on qualifying activity data.
Oura is adding two cardiovascular fitness features to its smart-ring platform: Cardio Effort, which tracks workout strain, and an updated VO2 max estimate generated from GPS-enabled activities. The additions extend Oura’s focus beyond sleep and recovery toward metrics sought by runners and endurance athletes, markets served by devices from Garmin and other fitness-focused brands.
Cardio Effort uses Training Impulse, or TRIMP, a framework that estimates cardiovascular load from exercise intensity and duration. Oura assigns eligible workouts an individual score and adds those scores to a weekly total. Members are then placed in one of five personalized ranges: Light, Fair, Maintaining, Building or Reaching.
The company calculates effort relative to a member’s longer-term resting heart rate, with weekly ranges informed by recent activity patterns. The feature is slated for Oura Ring Gen3 and newer devices. The source report does not specify a separate release date for Cardio Effort.
Oura is also updating Cardio Capacity, renaming it VO2 max. Rather than requiring the previous dedicated six-minute walking test, the revised feature estimates aerobic fitness from GPS-enabled workouts. It produces an initial estimate after five qualifying activities. Members can view the estimate and changes over time in the app’s My Health Heart Hub. The updated feature is launching in Oura Labs for Gen3 and newer rings.
Oura Adds Tools for Training
The additions address a gap between Oura’s established emphasis on sleep and recovery and the workout metrics many performance-focused users expect. A weekly cardiovascular-load measure may help members track how training effort accumulates, while VO2 max gives them an estimate of aerobic fitness over time. These are estimates and tracking tools, not a guarantee of improved performance or a substitute for individualized coaching.
Oura’s approach also differs from relying solely on a screen-equipped sports watch. The source report describes the ring’s always-on wear pattern as a potential advantage because some users may wear a smartwatch for only part of the day. Whether that translates into more useful training data for athletes depends on the quality and consistency of the measurements, which the report does not independently evaluate.
The features put Oura more directly into a market where Garmin and Apple have been courting active users. For consumers, the practical question is whether Oura can combine fitness tracking with its existing health and recovery functions well enough to reduce the need for a second device.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Recovery to Fitness Metrics
Oura has historically been associated with sleep and recovery tracking, while also recording activity. The new features continue a broader effort to make the ring a more complete fitness and health product. The report says the launch follows the introduction of Oura Ring 5 in May, which brought real-time workout metrics, improved automatic activity detection and a smaller design.
The expansion comes as the distinction between health-oriented wearables and dedicated sports trackers narrows. The source report cites Garmin’s fitness segment growing 42% year over year in the first quarter of 2026 and says Apple has pursued serious athletes, including through a partnership with the 2026 TCS London Marathon. It also reports year-over-year search increases during an unspecified study period: 58% for Oura Rings and 31.3% for Garmin watches. Those figures describe search activity, not sales, and the report does not provide the period or comparison methodology.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Limits of the New Estimates
The source material does not provide independent validation data for Cardio Effort or the updated VO2 max estimates, nor does it explain how closely the estimates may match laboratory testing or other reference measures. It also does not list which GPS-enabled activities qualify, how often the VO2 max estimate updates after the initial five activities, or how missing or inconsistent workout data affects results.
The VO2 max update is described as launching in Oura Labs, but the report gives no schedule for a wider release or says whether the feature will remain in Labs. Cardio Effort’s release timing is also not specified. The reported search growth lacks a stated study window and methodology, so it cannot establish a direct link between consumer interest and Oura’s product changes.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Rollout and User Feedback
The next practical milestone is the availability of the features to eligible members. Oura says Cardio Effort supports Gen3 and newer rings, while the updated VO2 max experience is beginning in Oura Labs for those devices. Users will need qualifying GPS-enabled activities before receiving an initial estimate.
Further information would clarify the rollout schedule, activity eligibility and whether Oura plans to move the Labs feature into general availability. It is also not yet clear how members’ feedback or later updates may change the estimates and training guidance. Until those details are available, the announcement establishes an expansion of Oura’s fitness tracking, but not how the tools compare with dedicated sports watches in accuracy or usefulness.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is Oura Cardio Effort?
Cardio Effort estimates the cardiovascular load of eligible workouts using exercise intensity and duration. Oura combines workout scores into a weekly total and assigns members one of five ranges.
How does the updated Oura VO2 max feature work?
The updated feature estimates aerobic fitness from GPS-enabled activities. Oura says an initial estimate becomes available after five qualifying activities, without requiring the previous six-minute walking test.
Which Oura rings support the features?
The report says Cardio Effort is for Gen3 and newer rings. The updated VO2 max feature is also launching in Oura Labs for Gen3 and newer devices.
When will the features be available?
The updated VO2 max experience is launching in Oura Labs, but the source report does not give a rollout date. It also does not specify when Cardio Effort will become available.
Are the Oura metrics the same as a medical or laboratory test?
The source describes these as tracking features and estimates and provides no independent validation results. It does not establish that they are equivalent to laboratory testing or medical assessment.
Source: rss